Time for a Video Chat . . . But About What?

Dear Students,

I’m pleased to announce that  I’ve been able talk with Mrs. Rombach, and we’ve come up with a tentative plan to connect our classes for a video chat in the coming week.  We thought we’d give each class the opportunity to create a short skit or song to introduce yourselves–short as in just a few minutes–but we’d like your input on how best to use the remaining thirty minutes or so of our time.

Should we post a writing prompt ahead of time?  Write something together?  Write what?

Would you rather prepare questions for each other ahead of time?

Or choose a few students from each class to share a piece of writing?

Have something else in mind entirely?

Please comment on this post with your suggestions!

5 thoughts on “Time for a Video Chat . . . But About What?

  1. Hi Mr. Jewell,

    Hi I think it is amazing that we get to video chat with Mrs. Rombach’s class, I can hardly wait. I think we should have 3 students read about 2 paragraphs from their writing. I love the idea of making a skit or a song to introduce our class. Maybe on Monday when we all preform our “Jason and the Golden Fleece” skit we can video chat with them! I was also wandering if we get to ask Mrs. Rombach’s students any questions?

    Thanks,
    Sophia

  2. Hi Mr.Jewell!

    Mrs.Rombach’s Class (which I am In) and I are really excited to meet you and your class! We were planning to do a skit and each write a question with our names on them and switch questions! I hope that helped!

    Stay Happy 🙂
    Quynh-Thi http://eatsweet.edublogs.org/

    1. Hi Quynh-Thi,

      I’m looking forward to connecting with your class, too. My students have come up with some questions for the students in your class, which I have shared with Mrs. Rombach, but here’s a sneak peek.

      Climate and Weather
      What is the weather like in Virginia?
      Is it hot and dry like it is in California?
      How is winter different from the summer there?
      Does it snow? If so, what do you do when it does?
      What is the ocean like near you?

      Interests
      What sports are most popular?
      What hobbies do you practice?
      What is your favorite subject?
      What is your absolute favorite project this year and why?

      Blogging Experience
      Is this your first year blogging, or have you done if for a long time?
      Why did you start blogging?
      Do you get to post whatever you want?
      Do you ever post videos on your blogs?
      How has blogging affected your classroom?

      I thought you might like to post them on your blog and invite some of your classmates to weigh in.

      Talk to you on Tuesday!

      Mr. Jewell

      1. Hi Mr.Jewell!

        I enjoyed that video chat today very much! Thank you for the sneak peek also! I will post them on my next blog post! I hope to continue to blog with you and your class, have a great summer!

        Stay Happy 🙂
        Quynh-Thi http://eatsweet.edublogs.org

Comments are closed.